Jump to content
  • Sign in to follow this  

    [6.7.2] Recreating disk layout can cause orphan references in Shares configuration


    jbartlett
    • Minor

    I removed one of my drives from my array to turn it into a hot spare since I have more protected storage than I needed. I went from nine array drives to eight. One of my shares was set to include Disk9. After I removed one drive, Disk9 no longer existed but the share was still set to include it based on the "Fix common problems" plugin report.


    The problem is, Disk 9 isn't included in the list of available drives so it couldn't be seen or specifically deselected on it's own. Fixing was simply a matter of checking another drive such as Disk 1 and then clearing it.

     

    Diagnostics attached but I had already resolved the issue prior to thinking that I should have taken a snapshot. I don't know what kind of issue would have arrived if the OS tried to write to a non-existing array drive specified in the share settings.

    nas-diagnostics-20190812-0759.zip

    Sign in to follow this  


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    +1.

    I think this bug has always been there, as far back as I can remember.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I don't know what kind of issue would have arrived if the OS tried to write to a non-existing array drive specified in the share settings.

    I am reasonably certain that Unraid  will never try to write to a non-existent disk regardless of what you set in the share settings.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Status Definitions

     

    Open = Under consideration.

     

    Solved = The issue has been resolved.

     

    Solved version = The issue has been resolved in the indicated release version.

     

    Closed = Feedback or opinion better posted on our forum for discussion. Also for reports we cannot reproduce or need more information. In this case just add a comment and we will review it again.

     

    Retest = Please retest in latest release.


    Priority Definitions

     

    Minor = Something not working correctly.

     

    Urgent = Server crash, data loss, or other showstopper.

     

    Annoyance = Doesn't affect functionality but should be fixed.

     

    Other = Announcement or other non-issue.