• local boot gui mode not working with Intel GPU

Chris Mot
    • Solved

Hello to @ich777 and the unraid community.

I am new to unraid and just recently built a NAS with an Intel i5-11500 (LGA1200) with UHD Graphics 750. An HDMI monitor is connected to I/O motherboard panel. I run unraid 6.9.2 and start in UEFI mode.
    Everything runs fine with the "remote web GUI" and using "My unraid server".

I'd like to use the boot GUI mode directly on the NAS to obtain a token to link rclone to my cloud.

I have gone on the forum through several topics related to failing GUI boot with a blinking cursor on a blank screen.
    It's a lot of reading and testing.
    I tried: 
    - regular GUI mode
    - safe GUI mode
    - the option with Ctrl - Alt - F1 / modprobe i915 / /etc/rc.d/rc.4 
    - the options with or without Intel GPU top application
    - also with or without additon of nomodeset  or   i915.modeset=0 in the flash syslinux config
    - also the option the console: if [ ! -d /boot/config/modprobe.d ]; then
        mkdir -p /boot/config/modprobe.d
        fi
        touch /boot/config/modprobe.d/i915.conf

Unfortunately no boot GUI available after these attempts.

I run no VM, and does not use any additional graphic card. Docker autostart is disabled, and array autostart is disabled as well.

English is not my native language, hope my explanations are clear, otherwise, please ask precisions.

Here enclosed is my latest dagnostic file.

Thanks in advance for your help

uranus-diagnostics-20210610-1824.zip

User Feedback

Recommended Comments

@Chris Mot please remove the file: /boot/config/modprobe.d/i915.conf and add this to your boot config: 'i915.force_probe=4c8a' and install the Intel-GPU-TOP plugin and reboot.

EDIT:

I'd like to use the boot GUI mode directly on the NAS to obtain a token to link rclone to my cloud.

Isn't this possible through a remote terminal?