• Slow SMB access times, general io vs SFTP

mrpops2ko
    • Annoyance

hi just wanted to x-post from 

to put it in the appropriate section, in the hopes of limetech putting priority towards fixing this bug.

I could copy / paste all the messages I wrote from the thread above but it seems needlessly redundant. In summary SMB performance on unraid sucks, is significantly worse than any other implementation by any other provider and all the tests mentioned in that thread can be repeated / are easily verifiable.

18504adf5da19d348bc79c32858046cf.gif

SMB to unraid on the left

SFTP to unraid on the right

I think its clear to see this isn't made up - SMB is a huge portion of a large swath of unraid users ecosystems. The SFTP workaround detailed in the thread is viable, but not nearly as desired as a native fix.

• Upvote 3

User Feedback

Recommended Comments

I have the same problem. I'm new to Unraid (used Windows Server before) and also experience that listing directories via SMB seems to be extremely slow.

Opening a directory in Windows explorer that has ~4000 files takes 25-30 seconds for me (on Windows Server this almost opened instantly). This makes browsing through directories on unraid painfully slow. I'm not using the "folder caching" plugin and I'm also running Unraid pretty much with default settings.

Really wondering if this is normal or if there is something wrong with the latest Unraid version or the compatibility with my machine.

I'm using Unraid with user shares (no disk shares). I also tried listing some directories via SCP and this seems to be much faster than SMB.

I have also the same issue. It used ot be far better in 6.9.x. I can also confirm performance are worst since 6.10.x.