Build help requested - Time to upgrade

RokleM

Current setup:

• Old tower case with 2x 4-in-3 Norco cages (aftermarket fans) (SS-400 I think ???)
  • Supermicro X8SIL-F
  • i5 750  @ 2.67GHz
  • 4g RAM
  • 5x 3-4TB drives that should be slowly replaced
  • Old 2TB junk cache disk
  • sy-pex40039 (2 port SATA card)
  • Corsair CX430

Goal:

• Get the current one off the floor.  It does a GREAT job at collecting dust, getting kicked, and everything else.  I'm a network engineer by hobby and profession (40 years old with 25y in the field, do the math), and have a wall mounted 19" short depth cabinet next to my desk, which also has a Thermaltake wall mounted PC next to it.  Cabinet is only 13" deep, but know this will NOT hold any decent 19" case what so ever.  I can / will replace with an adjustable frame rack (star tech RK812WALLOA, 20" depth MAX).
  • I have QNAP's for DVR (HDHomeRun), so the primary use is backup of computers, movie storage, etc.  VM / Docker / KVM would be nice, some unix distro's for logging, perl scripts, testing, etc.  It is however not a KEY factor, a nice to have, and if run would not likely be incredibly intensive.  I would like to host some internal games for the kids via Steam client, however that currently is most 32 bit supported in Unix, which makes it quite difficult on this platform.  So point here is: Storage primary, VM's nice to have.
  • Price, not looking to spend a fortune.  As flexible as unraid is, and I love it, if price gets out of hand there is no reason not to go buy a QNAP instead.  Keep the suggestions within reason guys.
  • 10g network (eventually) would be nice, or at least an option (already have PCI-E N-Base 1g/2.5g/5g/10g card)