Parity 5400RPM drives vs 5900RPM

kizer

I recently swapped out my WD Greens that normally ran in the 5400rpm range to Iron Wolves that run around 5900rpm. 

In my Array I have a 10 Sata Port Motherboard so I'm direct plugged in. 

My reasoning for doing some drive swapping was simply my drives where dated. 2TB's, 3TBs and lots and lots of hours. I was on a quest to find something that I felt was at a really reasonable price point, reliable and available during this Covid Pandemic.

So out with the older drives and I spent some time Swapping out 2's and 3's with some 4TB Iron Wolves across the board. During this swap I reduced my used ports from 10 all used which included my Parity and Cache to 8 used, which means I have two spares. Sure I could of gone with larger drives, but I just kept it simply like I have since the day I started playing with unRAID. Use what you need not what you might need in a year or two. Worst case I swap out the Parity with a 6TB or larger and do the same with any drives I might need to later. 

So in the end I went from all drives spinning at 5400 to 5900.

Old setup around 12hours and I think I averaged 80 MB/s

New Setup. 9hours and an average of 119.8 MB/s

Sure its not ground breaking, but I'm kinda blown away that 500rpm and newer tech drives makes that big of a difference. I could only imagine what switching to 4TB 7200rpm drives would of delivered. ;)

https://hdd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/WD-Green-2TB-2011-vs-Seagate-IronWolf-4TB-2016/1850vs3906

3 hours ago, JorgeB said:

It's not just the RPMs, the less different sizes you have in the array the faster it will be for a check/rebuild.

Never thought about that honestly for Checking. Totally makes since with regards to rebuilding. 

3 hours ago, itimpi said:

There is also the fact that with newer drives the packing density may be higher so that more data can be read in a disk revolution.

That I did know about. I just assumed newer Tech and Caching would help in a lot of cases.