Need Help with Passthrough of USB Controller

Shan

Hi All, 

I'm new to unraid and to this community so I apologize in advance if I miss something. I have the following hardware listed below and looking to passthrough USB Controller but it seems like my motherboard only has a single USB Controller which is being used by unraid and I am not sure how I can go about passing it through to one of my VMs. I don't want to buy a PCI USB card if I can get away with using the built-in controller. I have watched all Spaceinvader One videos related to IOMMU and still can't figure this out. I have attached an image of my PCI Devices and IOMMU Groups. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I am excited to be part of this community :)

Also, I would like to know if I should use anything from Groups 5, 6 or 14 and if they would be any use to me? 

HARDWARE

-ASUS ROG STRIX Z590-E GAMING WIFI Motherboard

-i9 10900 Non-K CPU

-Gigabyte GeForce FTX 9704GB OC Edition GPU

VFIO-PIC.png

Edited by Shan
Fixed content
13 hours ago, Shan said:

looking to passthrough USB Controller but it seems like my motherboard only has a single USB Controller which is being used by unraid and I am not sure how I can go about passing it through

You can't.

Not sure why you highlighted iommu groups 5, 6 and 14, these have nothing to do with usb controller.

You have 2 options:

1. install a second usb controller

2. passthrough to the vm single usb devices

13 hours ago, Shan said:

how do I go about installing the second usb controller?

I mean installing a new pcie card, with a separate usb controller, so you can pass it through.

13 hours ago, Shan said:

how do I passthrough a single usb device to the VM?

Stop your vm, attach your device to the usb port, go to your vm tab, edit your vm, in the vm gui go to the bottom and you should see your usb device listed, put a check on it and save.