Native iscsi support on Unraid for installing any games on a vm would be great

*As I progress more into the joys of Unraid and I find other use cases for iscsi I will add them here.

This has probably been asked before but being able to set a share as an iscsi target on Unraid would just be wonderful.

steam may be okay with installing to shares but apps like:

• Origin
  • Epic Games
  • Oculus
  • Ubisoft connect

Of which I use all of them will fight tooth and nail to prevent it😂.

All the games would just be easily downloaded and easily manageable.

There is a plugin for this but I couldn't quite get it to work I could see the drive in the VM but not initialize it also you have to choose an entire disk or create a file for it, I was hoping more for just being able to use a whole folder (maybe that is'nt even possible), I am a bit of a newbie I suppose.

Symbolic links just couldn't cut it

If this does not happen and you are trying to setup a windows gaming VM.

There may be better ways of achieving this, that I am not privy to but my solution was to:

Create a virtual hard disk (VDHX) so it only consumes as much as you put on it

Set it to its max capacity (around 64 TB

Have its location be in a shared folder

Set install location to the virtual hard disk

Note*

When I was fiddling with getting it to auto mount on boot I would get an error that it is in use by another device (even if unmounted) this is because a game launcher with the drive as it's default it's default install location for games was running.

• 1 month later...
On 2/11/2022 at 4:20 AM, BAZOOKAPANDA said:

*As I progress more into the joys of Unraid and I find other use cases for iscsi I will add them here.

This has probably been asked before but being able to set a share as an iscsi target on Unraid would just be wonderful.

steam may be okay with installing to shares but apps like:

• Origin
  • Epic Games
  • Oculus
  • Ubisoft connect