Hard Drives disappearing as I add them to array and other I/O errors

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

Hello! I am new to the server stuff. I got a Dell PowerEdge r720XD with x1 800GB SAS SSD and x4 3TB SAS HDD. My r720XD came with a H710 mini RAID controller which I found out doesn't support pass through natively to allow for Unraid to control the drives (to my understanding). So I followed this guide to cross-flash the controller and I didn't have any issues. After that I finally got Unraid set up (found out that r720XD didn't like my USB 3.0 drive) and it seemed everything was working. I set up my array with the 1 of the HDD as parity and the other 3 as disk drives, then the SSD as cache. I started the parity-sync but it was estimating 60+ days to finish and there were hundreds of errors piling up for the 3 disk drives. I stopped it, and tried to format since they said they weren't formatted correctly but the formatting would end without doing anything. Without finding any solutions, I wasn't sure if I needed to format drives through the bios before using, but found out due to cross flashing I couldn't get to the drive configurations. Reverted my card back using the cross-flashing docks, tried Unraid again but this time nothing showed up. I re-cross-flashed again and the drives re-appeared, but now when I assign a hard drive (no issue with ssd) the drive disappears from the assigned disk, the Disk remains "unassigned" and the drive is gone from the unassigned list so I am unable to see it through the UI. I tried some commands in the terminal and it said there was problems reading it and other I/O issues.