Hi all!

I'm presenting my setup, it's not a long time I'm using Unraid, I started about 5-6 years ago.

I'm a chemical engineer with a passion for technologies in general, especially related to pc.

My work requires using a windows os due to some softwares for cfd simulations, 3d design of mechanical pieces; however I don't like windows very much (..and I don't know why), from 2008 I'm using mac os for my everyday things, browsing internet, filling documents, etc.; I'm also using linux because of programming and testing security. I like also gaming, so windows is used for work and gaming too.

I approached Unraid because my main goal at that time was to have a high performance mac os virtual machine (my macbook pro 2008 was quite old and unsupported for newer mac os versions); searching in google I read about advanced virtual machines, esxi, qemu, libvirt, hardware passthrough and all the things related to virtual machines.

I started with esxi but I had some issues with virtualization and I met Unraid.

The first impressions were very good, especially for me that at that time I knew near nothing about virtualization; it tooks really nothing to create my first vm, just pressing few buttons; I liked the fact that all was through a gui and configuration was step by step.

I also found here in the vm forum section some cool and more experienced guys that guided me in this new world of mac os virtualization.

After some months I knew more and more things about virtualization, bootloaders and operating systems in general.

My first configuration was a virtual machine with mac os, with another ssd disk with windows 10 installed; so, for my everyday use I started unraid and the mac os vm, for simulations and 3d design I simply booted directly the windows ssd.

My hardware is quite old but still powerful (at least in my opinion) and last year I decided to virtualize also my windows os.