Issue Connected to My-SQL-Server Docker Container from SSMS

Go to solution Solved by Derek,

Hi All,

Newbie here.

I've installed the docker "MY-SQL-Server" and it installed just fine, no issues.

But when I go to do the initial login I get issues of it not being seen.

Current Settings for the docker:

image.thumb.png.cf6c77d0fddcb6f7a7c7c85c85e3a6bf.png

When I then go into SMSS and enter in the server name I get an error (See below).

I've tried to browse to my network but it doesn't see it.

I'm not sure what I'm missing. I am new to running a server so it's very possible I'm missing a bunch of things, or maybe did something wrong.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Error msg

image.png.f81e9a77faf2336b848927c5fb841562.png

Just giving this question a bump. Also adding the logs from the SQL Server container in hopes that might help.

I've also noticed that on my SSMS side if I attempt to browse the local or network servers nothing shows up. 

I've attempted to to install SQL Server following the instructions from https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/linux/quickstart-install-connect-docker?view=sql-server-ver15&pivots=cs1-bash but still same error as above.

I'm still very new to having a server so there could be things I'm missing. Any help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED. 

image.thumb.png.1b4b9a8dc0d8eb2acb222b2dba06d257.png

image.thumb.png.a3c3bab9b1571053341b7d610d540695.png

• Solution
On 10/12/2022 at 5:34 PM, dfrontiera said:

Just giving this question a bump. Also adding the logs from the SQL Server container in hopes that might help.

I've also noticed that on my SSMS side if I attempt to browse the local or network servers nothing shows up. 

I've attempted to to install SQL Server following the instructions from https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/linux/quickstart-install-connect-docker?view=sql-server-ver15&pivots=cs1-bash but still same error as above.