New HBA card not showing extra drives?

Hi there,

I'm very new to Unraid / Linux, although I'm really enjoying setting everything up. 

I wanted to add a couple of extra drives to my server so I bought an HBA card with the following description from eBay "LSI 6Gbps SAS HBA 9211-8I FW P20 IT Mode ZFS FreeNAS unRAID + 2* Cable SATA"

I've just installed it and used two of the connectors (there's 8 in total) to connect the two new drives.

However, when I boot my server I don't see any new drives appearing?

I wondered if anyone could help me troubleshoot this? I'm happy to post logs or whatever other information you need?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

3 minutes ago, JorgeB said:

It's detecting a 2TB Seagate but failing to initialize it, try swapping that disk with known good, like of of the already assigned disks, it would also be a good idea to update the firmware, it's using an old one.

Okay, thanks for that. I'll try the firmware update and have a look at the disks and then report back. Thank you very much for your help so far 🙂

• Like 1
27 minutes ago, JorgeB said:

It's detecting a 2TB Seagate but failing to initialize it, try swapping that disk with known good, like of of the already assigned disks, it would also be a good idea to update the firmware, it's using an old one.

I've hit a bit of a snag. I was following your instructions for upgrading the firmware (great instructions btw!).

I found the 9211-8I files on the Broadcom website. There was "sas2flash" and "2118it.bin" (there were 2 'Firmware' files - one folder was "HBA_9211_8i_IR" and the other was "HBA_9211_8i_IT" - I'm assuming I want the "IT" one as I've read that we need the HBA card flashed to be IT?).

I copied the two files to my flash card and then went through the commands but it failed on "./sas2flash -listall" and reports "bash: ./sas2flash: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error"

image.png.ac765a805f2d2456d2459260311c5bef.png

Do you know where I've gone wrong?

Thanks 🙂