6.11.5 with 4 drives - one failed, one disabled

zylex
Go to solution Solved by trurl,

Hi all - I'm quite new to Unraid. Have a machine here that came to me with Unraid already on it, so I had a play and put a bit of data on it, then the next time I looked at it (probably months later) it was in this condition. This probably happened a year ago at a guess. I didn't have a spare drive of the right capacity at the time and it had been powered off for a while before we powered it back up and noticed this problem, so there's no useful syslog available. The data is nothing super critical but would like to regain access if possible. More importantly, I'd like to learn more about how to work with issues like this in Unraid, but had trouble finding info on what to do in this specific situation.

Unraid 6.11.5 on an HP Microserver Gen8, 4 drives. One failed and one disabled - as far as I know this happened at the same time.

Drives listed below:

image.png.548d6a604c3ef3b74a60c355553bd3ec.png

I have removed and replaced Disk 3. Old disk 3 - ID shown in screenshot was no longer detected in unraid. I have tried following instructions to re-enable DIsk 2, and tried selecting the 'new' disk 3, but can't seem to get to a point where the array says anything other than 'invalid configuration' so I can start it in maintenance mode as per the instructions for either disk replacement, or for enabling a drive by rebuilding onto itself - I assume this is because of the two drives being an issue at the same time. I've run a smart test on Disk 2 - only issue seems to be it exceeded a temperature threshold once. 

Diagnostics attached. 

microserver1-diagnostics-20230202-1858.zip

Edited by zylex
8 minutes ago, zylex said:

as far as I know this happened at the same time

It wouldn't have disabled a disk if one had already failed, but it is possible one disk was disabled and then the other one failed before anyone did (or could do) anything about the disabled disk.