New Unraid Server Setup

thunderclap

I run an Unraid server at home which I love. It's easy to use and maintain and I really appreciate the piece of mind of redundancy. I am now considering building an Unraid server for my employer, but before I get to what I'm thinking, here's a brief preamble as to why...

I work for a government entity where getting anything ordered or approved is a nightmare. Six years ago I was told by my supervisor we needed a some way of tagging photos and for easy searching. Unfortunately, IT refused to help because "it isn't in our contract." So it fell to me to find a solution that satisfied my bosses wishes and, on a selfish level, made my job easier. I settled on ResourceSpace and after some griping from IT, they agreed to allow us to use it as long as we purchased a department server and maintained it ourselves. Not a big deal to me, since I've been building systems for 30 years. But we had to use the server they selected, a Dell Precision because it had a Raid controller for mirroring.

Once we got it I promptly installed Ubuntu and got our digital asset manager up and running. Within a few years I expanded it with a couple external drives for video/photo editing, which is my primary responsibility. The reason for this was because there are two of us editors, and two machines, and we were tired of having projects on two different machines, especially if there was a rush and we needed access to a project the other was working on. This set up worked fine for us... until now.

We suffered a major hard drive crash last week and the main drive no longer boots or is accessible. No problem, I thought, and pulled the drive out and moved the mirror drive. Turns out it had stopped mirroring the main drive in March 2022, so a lot of photos and b-roll is missing. Slightly panicked, I figured this was bad but not terrible because we have cloud backup.