Unable to determine if drive failure or other issue

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

Hey folks, I have read errors on multiple drives occurring on my host, there has been no recent power failure or anything that could trigger multiple drive failures and most of my drives are relatively new. I'm trying to pinpoint if there is an actual drive failure or if there could be an issue with cabling or my LSI. Unfortunately, I'm not very good at reading SMART data. Short self-tests past without issue, extended self-tests pass for 2/3 of the drives with the 3rd one aborting with the reason being "aborted by host." Was wondering if someone could help me review my diagnostics to see where the issue lies.

Thre read errors were showing on sdg (parity), sdh, and sdf

Edited by Ghostie

For additional details, this has occurred one time prior and I reseat all the cables to see if the issue persisted. After doing so I was able to rebuild the disabled disk, but the issue has re-presented itself after I attempted to move ~5TB from cache to array via mover. I'm trying to isolate what component is failed and am utterly confused between a failed drive, the LSI card, or the SAS cables. I've done another reseat and am attempting another rebuild (prior rebuild on disk 7 failed towards almost the very end with approx 1 TB left and started generating read errors again). I've also swapped the SAS cables on the LSI card's ports to see if they perhaps start occurring elsewhere. The disabled disk only has power on hours of 2739 (3m 22d)

• Solution

It's not logged as a disk problem, and SMART looks OK, could be a power/connection issue, I've also seen some possible issues with recent model large capacity Seagate drives and LSI SAS2 controllers, so if you have a different one where you could connect those those it might be worth a try.

12 hours ago, JorgeB said: