Maxtor 1TB sata/300 32MB L01F1000 $235 delivered

dabl

I have some experience with Maxtor drives in general - generally not very good. Nothing like having a failure mode where the firmware for the drive operation is stored ON the drive such that when it fails nothing is accessible on the platters! Had that occur twice with zero recovery possible by an end user - long story. Their warranty period, unless it has changed recently, is also not great compared to say Seagate. WD is who has made the 1TB drives I have and their warranty isn't terrific either I'm afraid but they cost less and use less juice than a comparable Seagate.

Maxtor was recently purchased by Seagate. If their quality has somehow gotten better then great I'd use them - when the adjust their warranty to reflect some confidence like Seagate. Until I can be sure of those things I'm sticking with WD begrudgingly and Seagate primarily. YMMV, I'm sure some folks swear by Maxtor but I tend more towards swearing at them  :P

I think that everyone has their biased based on anecdotal experience.

I have had good luck with Maxtor over the years - much better than with WD.  The last WD drive I bought (750GB) had bad sectors when it was new.  I didn't do a thorough test before using it and encountered the errors later.  Not good.  Their newest line rates drives as "5400 to 7200 RPM" and their advertising makes it sound like somehow the drive senses the need to speed up and changes gears.  This is very misleading, as all the high capacity versions of these disks are 5400 RPM with some optimizations.  Despite their slower speed, a lot of people here like these drives for unRAID (lower power, cheaper and less heat) and have good luck with them.

I have had the best experience with Seagate, and recommend them highly.  Maxtor would be #2 for me.  With WD a distant 3rd.

BTW, until very recently the Seagate 1T drives have been $234 on outpost.  I wouldn't be surprised to see that special come back.