Slow Veeam Backup Performance

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

First off, I'd like to say that I am brand new to Unraid, and currently trialing it. The first share that I would like to utilize is for our Veeam backup. I am getting rather slow performance to the share and I'm pretty certain I don't have a good configuration for the drives. The array has 2x 10tb parity drives, 6x 10tb storage drives, and a 2tb SSD cache drive. When I look at the overall status, the cache drive gets almost no read / writes, the two parity drives and only 1 storage device has any activity on it. I am assuming there is a way to configure the share to initially hit the cache drive, and then spread the data across multiple drives to increase the throughput. 

At this point, if a re-build is needed, I am ok with that. I would rather set it up properly for optimal performance. Veeam is connecting via SMB share to Unraid. Thank you in advance.

Array status:

image.png.1e93858c283304999565bfc3d897cc75.png

Share settings:

image.thumb.png.073065ead90875340a57754d8ddcf2f8.png

• Solution
4 minutes ago, GamerDad said:

the cache drive gets almost no read / writes,

That will only happen if you set the share to use a pool as the primary storage, currently is set to array.

Note that you can also get better performance writing directly to the array with turbo write.

Mover is intended for idle time. Default schedule is daily in the middle of the night. It is impossible to move from fast cache to slow array as fast as you can write to cache. If you need to write more than cache can hold, don't cache.

4 minutes ago, trurl said:

Mover is intended for idle time. Default schedule is daily in the middle of the night. It is impossible to move from fast cache to slow array as fast as you can write to cache. If you need to write more than cache can hold, don't cache.

Understood and makes sense.