[SOLVED] Adding non-EARS drive to existing EARS array

Hi - newbie here! I'll try to keep it short:

unRaid 5.0-beta12a

motherboard: Zotac GF6100-E-E

Drive 0 (parity): WD Green 2TB EARS (MBR: 4K-aligned)

Drive 1 (disk1): WD Green 2TB EARS (MBR: 4K-aligned)

Drive 2 (unassigned): Seagate 1.5TB (pulled from a GoFlex)

unRaid has been up successfully for 6 months on Drives 0 and 1.  I have tried twice to add this Seagate drive.  Shut down, connect drive, power up, stop array, assign drive, clear, format... then during parity check, 11k errors.  Syslog attached after 2nd attempt.

Here's my problem: after a reboot, or even stopping the array, the drive is detected as unassigned. 

Here are my questions before I try a third time: should I change the "partition format" setting to "MBR: unaligned" before adding this non-EARS drive? Will changing this setting screw up my existing EARS drives?  Am I doing something else wrong?

Appreciate any help.

Thanks

III_D

syslog-2.txt

Hi - newbie here! I'll try to keep it short:

unRaid 5.0-beta12a

motherboard: Zotac GF6100-E-E

Drive 0 (parity): WD Green 2TB EARS (MBR: 4K-aligned)

Drive 1 (disk1): WD Green 2TB EARS (MBR: 4K-aligned)

Drive 2 (unassigned): Seagate 1.5TB (pulled from a GoFlex)

unRaid has been up successfully for 6 months on Drives 0 and 1.  I have tried twice to add this Seagate drive.  Shut down, connect drive, power up, stop array, assign drive, clear, format... then during parity check, 11k errors.  Syslog attached after 2nd attempt.

Here's my problem: after a reboot, or even stopping the array, the drive is detected as unassigned. 

Here are my questions before I try a third time: should I change the "partition format" setting to "MBR: unaligned" before adding this non-EARS drive? Will changing this setting screw up my existing EARS drives?  Am I doing something else wrong?

Appreciate any help.

Thanks

III_D

You are doing it in the wrong order.

Preclear new drive

Then STOP array

Then ASSIGN drive