[SOLVED] how to install plex in unraid & Fix Most of related issues

Hi guys I'm new to Unraid. I just built myself a new unraid and bought the registration key. I have 12b and 128 ssd f

As cache drive. Till now all went well.

My only issue is that I don't know how to add plex media server to unraid.

Can someone please help me,  or guide me to a step by step tutorial for noobs

I look forward to hear from you

Regards,

Ammar

Installing Plex isn't all that difficult. However, as I kind of figured it out as I went, I don't have the greatest start on writing it down into steps. The first step is to install the plugin. Actually, the first step is making sure you are running the latest beta (5.0 rc11, I am pretty sure) of unraid. Then go to the http://lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php/UnRAID_Plugins page on the Wiki and get the Plex plugin. I would also strongly recommend installing the SimpleFeatures Plugin first (and honestly, unmenu too). These make running Plex easier, and unraid is generally better with them.

Once the plugin is installed, you will want to set the library and data directories to your cache drive. I created two folders, you do whatever works for you. But, point the plugin to those folders within the settings page within unraid. You will probably also want to create user shares for movies and tv separately, but that is just a matter of taste of personal organization.

You will need to probably spend one night just reading the Plex page on the forum start to finish to get an idea of the issues and workarounds that have been used. It is a good primer for the unexpected issues you will face. But keep posting here and I will try to help (others will join in too, I promise).

I find downloading the PKG from the Plex website to me more reliable. Simply drop into the Extra's folder and reboot your box.

Watch out for....

1. If you have a cache drive make sure you have setup a new share that is cache only so the mover scripts doesn't kill plex.