Moving files from unRaid to Synology

janzy

I have to start by saying that I'm very new to the server world.

I have 3Tb of movies on my unRaid box, I also run A HP microserver that runs Synology 4.3DSM. I had the same movies on this box also.

The Synology was running jobd and crashed.

I'm running a Mac OS

How can I get these files over to the Synology box?

Thanks

Once you're connected to the servers from your Mac, they just look like any other drive.  The only difference is that you have to make a 'connection' between your Mac and the servers. That typically requires a 'userid' for the server and the 'password.'  Once they are connected, the servers show up in the left of the finder window under the heading "Shared", or "Network".

I assume the 'crash' on the Synology box is fixed...and its up and running.

Also, I don't have a synology box here at home, but I think the following works:

1. From your Mac, you access unRAID with the menu command: FINDER / GO / Connect to Server...

You'll get a dialogue box with all the defined shares...highlight them all and connect. (you may have already done this).

That should open a Finder window containing a listing of the folders/files on unRAID.

2. Do exactly the same thing to your Synology box. Finder/Go/Connect, etc.

Giving a second Finder window.

3. Then drag and drop FROM the unRAID Finder window TO the Synology window.

Its probably going to be something pretty simple to fix, once the issue is found.

Open your Mac program called 'Keychain Access'...you'll see in there, any stored logins and passwords. Delete any that point at unRAID as the userid of 'root'. Try Go/connect again...don't forget that userids are lowercase. 

And I guess I'm still trying to understand where you're at..."how did the movies get onto the unRAID box? From the Mac? And if so, what happened that you lost contact with the array?"

Can you see unRAID in the web browser on your mac?

Have you Ever seen your unRAID files from your mac?