Recommendations on HDD arrangement

Im new to unraid. Thinking about my setup before i install it. I would like a cache drive.

Which one would you use for a cache drive? 

A wd blue 7200 rpm drive 250GB.

wd caviar 7200 rpm drive at 320gb.

Seagate 7200 rpm 160gb.

As far as my array:

2TB Seagate green - parity drive?

2TB wd green

2tb wd green

1tb wd green

5tb total for data.

Look good?

I'd tend to use the bigger drive for the cache.

Rest looks fine.

Cabling issues is the #1 most common problem with new arrays. Use locking cables if you have them. And make sure all connections are secure - both data and power, on both drive and controller sides.

Good luck!

I'd use whichever drive has the highest areal density.  e.g. a 250GB single platter drive will be notably faster than a 320GB dual platter drive.

If you post exact model #'s of the drives, I can tell you which one would be the best choice based on the platter density.

Thanks guys.  I was reading the docs and they mentioned using the fastest drive for cache.  Also, say I use the 320GB drive.  What happens when I want to transfer 500GB to the NAS box? 

Here r the drives I have available for the cache drive.  They are all 7200 rpm.  The Seagates are noticeably thinner.  Less platters perhaps?  Do you need the firmware too?

WD------ Blue-------- 250GB WD2500AAKX – 753CA0

WD------ Caviar----- 320GB WD3200AAKS – 00VYA0

WD------ Caviar----- 160GB WD1600AAJS – 75B4A0

Seagate Barracuda 160GB ST3160815AS – 7200.10

Seagate Barracuda 160GB ST3160318AS – 7200.12

Unfortunately, some of these drives are old enough the newest version of the HDD Capacity Database doesn't list them anymore.