Looking for advice from the experts

wsume99

Let me start off by saying that I'm not an expert when it comes to servers (but I've learned a lot from building and using unraid) so I have some questions that I'd like to get some input from the community on. I am asking these questions because I got involved in a project at work where we're trying to model the reliability/availability of a server that a vendor is building. The server uses a bunch of RAID-5 arrays for storage and I have no first hand experience with RAID-5. My biggest concern is that most of the storage arrays are built using 4 x 4TB HDDs and I'm concerned about encountering a URE during a rebuild after a failed disk. The data contained on the arrays is mission essential and the vendor claims that they do have on-site backup that is no more than 24 hours old. I'm pressing the vendor for more info on that topic but at this point I just need to better understand how a RAID-5 array behaves so I can properly model it's availability.

1) When one of the drives in the array experiences a failure the array is still accessible and can provide data (although at a slower throughput), correct?

2) When an array is in the degraded state (one drive failed) what happens if a URE is encountered? I'm under the impression that the specific data/file being accessed could be unavailable. Is that correct? If this happens does the array go offline or does it continue to operate and you just have problems accessing the data that is on the disk where URE is occurring?

3) After a disk fails it must replaced with a new disk and the data will be rebuilt to it using the remaining data & parity info. I assume that the array is still functional at this point but with lower throughput, correct?

4) If a URE is encountered during a disk rebuild what happens? I think that the rebuild operation simply fails and the array remains functional but in the degraded state (#1 above). Is that correct?