First time build advice

Bizmo

Hi y'all

I am completely new to unRAID and am trying to put a system that is at the budget end but is still capable of performing as a plex/couchpotato/sonarr server.

I currently have a 2009 Core 2 duo Mac Mini running as this in my home.

It has the ability to have 2 2.5" drives which are both 1tb and are full. I use it mainly in the house to stream two one of two apple TVs or an iMac. But it is also used at two other addresses in who connect to it over the internet. As well as this it is nice to be able to use via my iPad or iPhone when I am away from home. The content on it is mainly 1080p films in the region of 10-13gb a go. My internet connection is 200down 12up and the NAS will be connected via Cat 5e.

Due to the fact it is full and the fact it is struggling to transcode to other addresses. I am looking to upgrade the server, I was originally looking at buying a more up to date Mac Mini and a synology but now think I'm going to go for an unraid server which see me better in the future, is more updatable, cheaper and does everything in one box.

I currently have narrowed it down to the bellow specs, I have 2 x 2TB WD Blue drives which I will use in it and will buy at least one WD RED 2TB, with the idea of eventually having 6 drives, so I can have 4 with dual redundancy, giving me 8TB to begin with with the option of upgrading them to 4TB later down the line if necessary. I could potentially have a cache SSD to improve performance but not sure I will need this and I would have to sacrifice space or redundancy.

Am I in the right ballpark and are there any suggestions?

I chose the CPU, MoBo and RAM as good enough but at the cheaper end of performance.

The case as it looks nice and could sit on a bookshelf.

The PSU for reliability, quietness and economy, being on 24/7.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor  (£159.76 @ More Computers)