TOTAL NooB, to VM on unRAID

CDLehner

OK...so I need to run some VMs for my consulting business. Nothing too demanding; just some 64-bit Win7 machines, for testing and development.

I did some research, and was going to run VirtualBox, on the same machine...I use solely for ripping, and such.

Wasn't getting 64-bit options...which led to more research; and it seems my current BIOS, doesn't have the option for Virtualization (under OS Security).

I suppose I could try flashing the BIOS; but then I started thinking, about whether uR might be a "better" option?

But I don't really know the first thing, about VM on unRAID. Could I run VB on my unRAID server; or does it have its own, Virtual software?

LOTS of other questions, obviously; but I think I need to start there...before I proceed further. FTR, I did look for a tutorial or something (oops...I didn't look at the Wiki; I will); but if this is spelled-out somewhere, I'm happy to do my own legwork...with a point in the right direction.

Virtual Box and unRAID (KVM) are hypervisors that need a motherboard and CPU that supports virtualization to host x64 VMs. unRAID will most likely work on your hardware but hosting VMs probably wont work.

EDIT: Your CPU supports Virtualization according to Newegg, probably either your motherboard doesn't support it or the BIOS/UEFI version has virtualization disabled.

EDIT²: Your Motherboard supports virtualization as well, is your Motherboard BIOS/UEFI updated to the newest version?

EDIT³: Virtualization should be under "Advanced BIOS Features" on your motherboard.

I think that's where you guys are confused:
We're not confused, but I think you are.

On your unRaid main gui, click on "Info" and post the results.

No...with all due respect; you...or some of you...thought it was my unRAID server, that wasn't supporting Virtualization.

I hadn't even gotten that far; I was talking about, whether or not I could pull it off...with this old HP RP5700.