Known working GPUs for Passthrough?

Hi there,

I am hoping that someone may be able to help, or that all can cumulatively help by giving me feedback.

I am an IT professional, so am comfortable playing around with hardware/software things, though I am by no means a developer/scripter.

I have been trying to get a GPU stably passed through to a Windows 10/7 VM for some time now and was wondering if people could list some known GPUs and their variants so I can try to pick the most likely to work.

Essentially, my first platform was :

Asus P8B-M

e3-1230v2

16GB ECC

GTX 970

Unraid 6.2

There proved an issue in that, I did not have a built in GPU (I did as the motherboard has an onboard chip, but thats a long story), so the passthrough was not possible, as NVidia has known issues with that.

So I returned the GTX 970 and bought a RX480 4GB (Sapphire Nitro+). This then allowed me to use the same GPU for Unraid as a VM, but the issues were not entirely solved. I would now experience a common issue I have come to learn, where the VM would crash when installing the video drivers.

This happened with Q35/i440, SeaBios/OVMF, with video and audio passed through, varying numbers of cores and memory.

So I decided to refresh the system as it was a bit old, and upgraded to Skylake:

Asus Z170M PLUS

i7 6700k

16GB 2400Mhz Corsair Memory

RX480 4GB

Unfortunately the same issue still persists, leaving me a little frustrated, but willing to work toward a solution.

It appears that someone said they have the XFX RX480 GTR passing through without issue, with others having issues with other variants.

I am confused as to whether it is pot luck with the hardware working/dodgy batch, or whether I am doing something fundamentally wrong.

Any help is appreciated, though I am away from the server for around 5 days now.

Thanks!

Thanks guys, glad to know people are having some success!