[Solved] Parity drive swap help

I currently have my drives setup as the following:

(1) 3TB Parity drive

(4) 3TB data drives

(1) 120GB SSD cache drive

I am looking at replacing my parity drive with an 8TB WD red. I read some articles on this forum and I guess I'm a little confused on what to do. I understood that I need to do a parity check, clear the NEW 8TB parity drive, but what I am uncertain of if I can just put in the 8TB as a secondary parity drive and run a parity check and then take down the original parity drive once the check is good. Sorry for the ramble, I am relatively new to unraid setup. At the moment I haven't plugged in the 8TB drive yet. I am on Unraid 6.3.5. I only want to run one parity drive at the moment until I can afford to buy more larger drives.

image.thumb.png.d0589cee960e049494c23457932da91e.png

Easiest thing to do is to simply change the existing 3TB parity drive to the new 8TB one and let unRAID build new parity on the 8TB drive.    Although technically you are unprotected until this new parity build finishes if you have not added/changed any files on the array while the parity builds then you can always revert to the previous configuration with the old 3TB parity drive.    Once you successfully have the 8TB parity up and working then you can use the old 3TB parity drive as an additional array data drive (assuming you want to do this).