Migration from Hyper-V to KVM (Server 2016)

Symon

Hi all,

I'm new to UnRaid and currently planing a migration from a Hyper-V host to UnRaid/KVM. As this is my first migration of this kind and I'm not familiar with UnRaid yet, I want to ask in this forum for some tips and to see if I've forgotten something.

Currently im Running a Hyper-V host with 5 Windows Servers 2016 on it. I need these servers for a little project but it is a testing environment and thus not very critical to run stable. These Servers don't need much power and are mostly running idle. Additionally, I'd like to run some dockers for Plex and other applications.

Now as I'm also planning to run a gaming VM on the host, I decided to replace the Hyper-V server with UnRaid/KVM. Unfortunately, its the same machine and thus, the migration is a bit tricky.

Hardware:
MB: ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1950X
RAM: 64 GB HyperX Predator
HDD: 2 x 6 TB & 1 x 8 TB WD Red for Raid
SSD: 2 x 512GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro for Cache
GPU1: GTX 1080 for Gaming VM
GPU2: GTX 950 for normal Winows 10 VM for my wife
GPU3: ASUS Radeon R5 230 for UnRaid Host

I'm aware of the Threadripper and GPU pass through problem. But thanks to the effort of some members here, as a solution to this problem seems to get closer and I decided to risk it and give it a try :)

My first question is: Do you see any problems with the hardware?

I was thinking of adding an additional 512GB M2. to create a cache raid with a total of 1 TB to run all the VM's on but I'm worried that this would slow down the cache read/write speed. Alternatively I could back them up once a week onto the normal raid and let the cache without protection (One M2 for the servers/dockers and the other for both W10 installations). 

The MoBo also came with an additional Network Card (10GB) > Do you see any way this can be usefull in this setup?

For the Migration, I planned the following steps: