New Configuration from Existing Parity and 4 of 5 data HDDs?

What a mess. I have learned a lot. But still have some questions.

I have been running UNRAID for about 4 years now and I run it strictly as a data storage solution, so no Plex or other app-type things installed. I have a general understanding of how the server functions and have swapped out failed drives and upgraded drives a number of times, but I do nothing outside of the GUI. I run an 8tb parity drive and 5 data drives of around 2-4tb each.

Recently my parity drive began acting up. It was starting to show errors. Since all of my drives showed healthy and no errors, the first thing I did was try to rebuild parity. In retrospect, maybe not the best solution? But it would not complete a new parity rebuild. It kept getting about 30% of the way through and hanging. So I made the assumption that the parity drive was bad... and maybe that wasn't the case. Regardless, I ordered a new parity drive, popped it in and began to build parity with all 5 of my data drives functioning perfectly. And I packaged up my old parity drive to be shipped back to the vendor as it is still under warranty. I was excited to wake up and check on the parity build after day 2 of the build process only to find that one of my disks had millions of read errors and parity had not completed. I tried pulling the bad drive and swapping in a new one just to see what would happen and found that I had none of the data from the failed data drive.