Docker image disk utilization getting high: how to find the culprit?

syrys

Hey All,

Ive been using unraid with docker apps for years (im still a noob though). Recently (since about few weeks ago) ive been noticing that my docker disk utilization is slowly going up (im not installing anything, and all the apps are set to write to a different drive, as mentioned, ive been using this without much issues for years).

Aaanyway, ive been getting warning emails saying "Docker image disk utilization X%"  where X is now at about 85, and growing a slowly (1-2% every day). So, between July 9th and July 21st, it went from <70% to 95%, then i deleted lot of apps that i dont use very much to get it down well below 70%. Then between August 17th to today (25th) it went from 70% to 85%.

This means clearly one of the dockers are doing something strange (something it shouldnt), and possibly writing logs to the docker image or something.

So, my question is, how on earth do i find out who the culprit is so i can look further into dealing with it and/or coming up with a solution? 

FYI, here is a list of 8 apps im actually running:

plex: linuxserver/plex
radarr: linuxserver/radarr
sabnzbd: linuxserver/sabnzbd
Sonarr: linuxserver/sonarr
deluge: linuxserver/deluge
DuckDNS: coppit/duckdns
jackett-public: dreamcat4/jackett
cadvisor: google/cadvisor

My current allocated space for docker is 20gb.

Any help appreciated :)

18 hours ago, Squid said:

The docker FAQ has a couple of entries on image utilization

Hey Mate,

Thanks for the link. I did have a look in there and made sure the basic things like that log file limit etc are set. But i dont see anything in the faq about a way to find which image uses up how much space or anything along those lines. So i still have no way of knowing what image is the culprit, and how to go about fixing it.