Dell H200 on Dell PowerEdge R710: Clarifications

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to home server design, and I'm trying to put together a home server to serve my NAS needs (most likely Unraid). I've bought a Dell PowerEdge R710 with 3.5 inch drives (LFF) off of ebay, and it came with the PERC 6i controller, which I believe can't be flashed into IT mode (from what I read in several forums). So, I've bought a Dell H200A on ebay. I needed some clarifications on my next steps:

1. 1) My understanding is that the Dell H200 can be cross-flashed with the LSI IT mode firmware - so that it would expose the raw hard drives to Unraid. However, I see conflicting posts on whether after cross-flashing the H200 can sit in the "Integrated Storage" slot or should it be moved to the "External PCIe slot"? Could someone clarify? I'm ok with either, just wanted to be clear which is my best shot.

3. 2) I don't have a different system with UEFI bios. Could I use the R710 itself to do the cross-flashing of IT firmware? Or should I be using a different system to be successful?

5. 3) I read on several forums that this cable on Aliexpress: (CY Ultra Slim Flat Left Angled 90 Degree Mini SAS 36 pin SFF-8087 to 8087 data cables 80cm long) can be used to connect the H200 to the R710 backplane. This cable apparently is the cheaper knock off of the dell M246M cables. My questions:

- Would these cables work on a LFF 3.5 inch R710 backplane with the H200?

- If the H200 sits on an external storage PCIe slot (after cross flashing), would this cable (80 cm) be long enough to
reach the backplane? Or are there even longer versions of the same cable.

4) I had posted similar questions on another forum (reddit). Folks recommended not cross-flashing the H200 at all, and just sticking with the stock firmware. I was confused because my H200A has the IR firmware, and I wasn't sure if the IT mode would work with this firmware.....