A couple issues with my VMs

Hello there everyone!

I've been using UnRaid to host my dual gaming machine for about two months now, and I'm very satisfied when it comes to performance: it's 90 to 98% of the bare metal, with the notable exception of Heroes of the Storm that for some unfathomable reason runs a lot worse, you might recall my post about it, about one month back. Today's post isn't about that though; instead, I'd like your opinion about a few minor but annoying issues I've got.

1 - VM becomes stutter-y and requires restarting the host to fix

1 a - Description of the issue

Occasionally, my VM ends up in a really weird state: everything's stutter-y, even the mouse cursor over my desktop is barely usable, any operation takes forever (opening a window, opening the start menu, even shutting down); it also seems to get stuck with some actions, for example: I would move the cursor towards the left a bit, and it would slowly keep going that direction (all stutter-y, still) forever. To give you an idea of how slow everything is, any window, say the control panel, is drawn very slowly and fades-in in distinguishable steps (imagine: 10% transparency >> 40% >> 70% >> 100%, in about 3 seconds). Note that in the meantime, the host UnRaid OS is perfectly fine and, If I happen to have the second VM running at that same time, it does not necessarily suffer from the same issue. This does NOT exclusively happens when I'm running both VMs, it happens at random on my VMs (both of them) even when just one is running with full resources.

1 b - Apparent triggers

The issue i just described happened in a few cases:

- After updating Nvidia drivers (not always).

- After a VM restart (not always, but often times).

- After spending a night processing GPU intensive tasks (very often).

1 c - The way I fix it

- If I restart or shutdown the VM and stat it back up again, the issues does NOT go away.