My USB just died So scared.. (SOLVED)

shazza6887

Hi all, I just added my last 8tb drive to my existing array of 5 to make it a total of 6. I have been having a wierd issue with the USB stick i used as in it would sometimes not boot into Unraid unless i changed the usb slot, It looks like it has now fully cooked!

I am a complete novice when it comes to all this stuff so im freaking out. Initially when i set it all up i followed guides on youtube and got all the reccomended apps etc.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to get me up and running again and pls pls pls make sure i dont do something stupid and overite or format my data etc?

First thing to is to shut the server down, pull the flash drive and run a chkdsk on it.  It is possible that will fix your problem.   

IF that does NOT fix it read through this thread.  It will get you started and perhaps get you up and running again.

If you have questions or something does seem right, or make sense in your situation, be sure to ask questions.  

8 minutes ago, shazza6887 said:

What is my first step go out and buy a new flash drive?

Yes.  Then follow the instructions about getting a new .key file.  Hopefully, you can locate the one from the old drive.  The link to the LimeTech webpage to that is in the referenced thread.  

5 minutes ago, shazza6887 said:

Should i remove the lastest drive i added to make things easier identifying disks etc?

That would probably make thing simpler.  I am assuming that you had not gotten to the point where you were adding data files on the drive.

I cannot acess my old drive what so ever :( it is completly gone!

No i had nothing added to the dirve, i will remove it before moving forward.

I found an old Kingston Data Traveller 100 G3 16GB and just installed Unriad to it UEFI bootable, would this be ok or should i go out and buy a fresh one?

Can i start getting things going without retreiving my key file or should i contact Limetech before starting up again?