Parity Drive Rebuild Fail v6.6.6

not2sure

I recently upgraded to V6.6.6 and had it working fine with all of the same server equipment. Wanted to increase the size of the Parity Drive to 8TB (previous was 4tb) so I can start upgrading my data drives to larger drives. I installed a new 8tb drive and started the parity rebuild. If keeps locking up after about 5 to 15 minutes of rebuild time. I lose all connection to the server. I have hard booted it several times to see if it will rebuild to no avail.

I am a real beginner at this as I have lost my builder as he relocated.

I have attached my latest diagnostics file and syslog.

All help will be appreciated.

System Log.html

1harleyguy-diagnostics-20181219-1348.zip

For future reference, Diagnostics zip already includes syslog, SMART for all disks, and many other things, so no need to attach them, just the diagnostics. Please don't attach .html files either. The syslog (if we wanted it, which we usually don't) should just be a plain text file or a zipped plain text file.

Diagnostics are immediately after a reboot so not much to go on. SMART for parity looks fine. Possibly a bad connection, maybe with the new drive or maybe you bumped the connection on another drive. Always double check all connections any time you are mucking about inside.

Rather than wading through SMART for all of your other drives I will just ask. Are any of them showing a warning indicator on the dashboard?

When you say "locking up", exactly what do you mean? Can you do anything with ssh/telnet/console? Have you tried to ping your server?

Actually, that syslog you attached does have more info than the syslog included in your diagnostics. It does look like a bad connection. Can't quite tell which disk it's on though.

Just double check all connections and try again. If you still have problems don't reboot, we may have other ways for you to get us some useful information if the command line still works.

I see it now