Beryllium

Unraid as Gaming/Transcoding PC

7 posts in this topic Last Reply

Hey 

I am new to this stuff and recently found (was recommended) UnRaid. I was planning to build a Plex server (4-5 transcoding streams at once) and a separate Gaming tower. 

Now the question is if I could just combine these two systems and let Windows run as a VM? 

Are there major performance deficits. Or will my VM choke if Plex is transcoding too much? 

Any help would be appreciated. 

BR
Beryllium

Will you be transcoding HD or 4k? Budget?

Posted (edited)

Hey so budget would be around 2k and only 1080p und below. 

Does this even work? Like how will this behave? If I turn off my VM will everything still run at full power consumtion as unraid is running? Just thinking a bit also about power consumption. Or will the GPU idle, if there is no use for it. 

Edit:
Does it even make sense to move plex from the NAS to a VM? If not I would just build a normal Windows PC :)
I mean the synology NAS does struggle sometimes. 

Edited by Beryllium
added info

On 1/8/2019 at 8:26 AM, Beryllium said:

If I turn off my VM will everything still run at full power consumtion as unraid is running? Just thinking a bit also about power consumption. Or will the GPU idle, if there is no use for it. 

The system will still power everything but you will of course not have a power draw that's anywhere close to the hw being in use. Same with CPU and hard drives, if you're only using 10% of them then your power draw will reflect that.

On 1/8/2019 at 8:26 AM, Beryllium said:

Does it even make sense to move plex from the NAS to a VM? If not I would just build a normal Windows PC

I don't think so. I'd leave the VM for a gaming VM and have Plex running in Linux (in Docker). That way you can update/restore/shut off/etc your gaming machine without your entertainment going down. You'd also be able to isolate them from eachother, so if you wanted to play a game you had some dedicated cores for that.

• Like 1