Meller

Need something beefier than a 9211-8i

8 posts in this topic Last Reply

I have a chenbro 4U running my unraid server.  It has 24 bays in it, in which it would "normally" have 3x LSI 9211-8i, with each card taking 2 SAS cables from the backplanes, blah blah blah, etc etc.

I'm wanting to get a 10Gbe NIC and install it in my server, instead of using the 1Gbe.  But in order to do that, I have to give up one of my 3 slots, which as we've discovered... are reserved for the 9211-8i's.

I'm guessing there is no 9211-16i (I googled, didn't find... though I didn't google very deeply).  So, does anyone have any recommendations on a SAS Controller, that will allow for 4 SAS cables rocking 16 hard drives total?  I'm fairly certain it won't be that difficult to find a low profile 10Gbe (or high profile) so I'm not too worried about that.

Thanks guys.

What about the 9201-16i?

I have been using two 9201-16i cards for over five years and have never had a problem with them.  I currently run unRaid on top of ESXi and pass the cards through to unRaid.  The entire system has always been rock solid; I've never had any issues with it.

I have a chenbro 4U running my unraid server.  It has 24 bays in it, in which it would "normally" have 3x LSI 9211-8i, with each card taking 2 SAS cables from the backplanes, blah blah blah, etc etc.

I'm wanting to get a 10Gbe NIC and install it in my server, instead of using the 1Gbe.  But in order to do that, I have to give up one of my 3 slots, which as we've discovered... are reserved for the 9211-8i's.

I'm guessing there is no 9211-16i (I googled, didn't find... though I didn't google very deeply).  So, does anyone have any recommendations on a SAS Controller, that will allow for 4 SAS cables rocking 16 hard drives total?  I'm fairly certain it won't be that difficult to find a low profile 10Gbe (or high profile) so I'm not too worried about that.

Thanks guys.