Newbie to Unraid - Can't see disks

I know there are a million threads on this issue - I've tried to go through as many of them as possible but I think I"m missing something here.  I'm new to both VMWare and unRAID (though relatively tech savvy) so I thought I'd be able to figure this out but I've spent a whole weekend trying to get this to work with no success.

Basic configuration is:

Host is running VMWare ESXi 6.7

Unraid 6.6.6 is running within a VM

Drives are 3x8TB WD Red's connected to the onboard SAS controller (which is an LSI SAS2008 built into a Gigabyte 7PESH2 motherboard)

I've set the SAS controller to Passthrough=Active in the VMWare hardware settings.  It appears that unRAID can see the controller, but never sees the disks.

The controller itself sees the disks.  I currently only have one of the drives hooked up with the data moved off it so I can do as I please with it.

I'm assuming the fact I can't see any of the drives show up in the logs is the primary reason why unRAID doesn't display drives.  I'm almost certain whatever I'm missing is very trivial but I can't seem to get past this point.

If anyone has any suggestions or ideas, I'd be grateful!  Diagnostic logs are attached.

stinkynas-diagnostics-20190204-1855.zip

Probably you know Unraid is a virtual host itself. Unlikely the cause of your problem, just thought I would mention it just in case you didn't know. 

Running Unraid as a VM is "officially unsupported", so we let others who are trying to do this support each other in this subforum. 

are you passed through the right controller? your syslog shows:

Feb  4 18:48:07 STINKYNAS kernel: ioc0: LSISAS1068 B0: Capabilities={Initiator}
Feb  4 18:48:07 STINKYNAS kernel: scsi host33: ioc0: LSISAS1068 B0, FwRev=01032920h, Ports=1, MaxQ=128, IRQ=18

and if you passtrough correct controller, then are your SAS 2008 controller flashed to IT mode?

33 minutes ago, uldise said:

are you passed through the right controller? your syslog shows: