Jump to content
benyaki

Replacing a drive, made a mistake, unsure how to fix

16 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

Current array is 2 cache drive, 2 parity drives, 12 disks (slowly upgrading old disks).

 

So I needed to replace an old drive (1.5TB).

I stopped the array, replaced it with an already pre-cleared 4TB drive, and then started rebuild.

I then noticed that it was formatted as reiserfs, and since I wanted it XFS, I stopped the rebuild, stopped the array, formatted the disk, started the array, then started rebuild again. (THE MISTAKE).

The new drive is showing only 4GB used, and obviously when I started a parity sync/rebuild, it is doing nothing to add data back to that disk. It shows the appropriate time for a parity sync, writing data to the drive (approx 30MB/s) and reading from all other driver and parity drives, however there is nothing on that drive being created. 

I still have the old 1.5TB drive with the existing data on it, and I am wondering how to recover from this the best way.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by benyaki

Share this post


Link to post

Tools -> New config -> Keep all assignemts

 

Then reassign old 1.5TB drive instead of new one and start the array to begin a parity sync.

Share this post


Link to post

As a point of information, you can not change the format on the drive during a drive rebuild.  Rebuilding only makes a bit-by-bit reconstruction of the information contained on the old drive.  And that includes the formatting information. 

 

Here is the thread that will tell you how to make the conversion from rfs to xfs:

 

    https://forums.unraid.net/topic/54769-format-xfs-on-replacement-drive-convert-from-rfs-to-xfs/

 

Share this post


Link to post
5 hours ago, johnnie.black said:

Tools -> New config -> Keep all assignemts

 

Then reassign old 1.5TB drive instead of new one and start the array to begin a parity sync.

Thank you. I (unfortunately?) restarted the array last night to re-insert the 1.5TB drive into a bay and forgot to stop the parity sync. It has already gone through about 25+%. Is it better at this point to just leave it and finish, then transfer the files over from unassigned devices (the 1.5TB drive)? Or will it be quicker to do as you suggested, then replace and rebuild the drive with the new one?

 

Thanks again for the help.

Share this post


Link to post
58 minutes ago, benyaki said:

I (unfortunately?) restarted the array last night to re-insert the 1.5TB drive into a bay and forgot to stop the parity sync.

Not sure I understand what you mean, it's doing a parity sync or rebuild?

Share this post


Link to post
5 minutes ago, johnnie.black said:

Not sure I understand what you mean, it's doing a parity sync or rebuild?

Yes, it is doing a parity sync based on the drive after it was formatted (ie it thinks that the drive should be empty and is doing a sync). Should I just let that complete then move the files over, or replace with the old 1.5TB drive, re-do a sync, then replace the drive with the new one and do a rebuild?

Share this post


Link to post
1 minute ago, benyaki said:

Yes, it is doing a parity sync

Why? It should either been rebuilding the disk or maybe doing a parity check after if you started one, don't see how it's doing a sync.

Share this post


Link to post
Just now, johnnie.black said:

Why? It should either been rebuilding the disk or maybe doing a parity check after if you started one, don't see how it's doing a sync.

Because when I replaced it, I stupidly stopped it during the rebuild to change the format to XFS. Now the array assumes the drive should be blank.

Share this post


Link to post
Just now, johnnie.black said:

So it's finishing the rebuild then.

Yes, sorry I see I used the wrong terminology. Should I let it finish the (incorrect from my point of view, correct from the servers) rebuild then move the files after?

Share this post


Link to post

Ok, thank you for your help. 

Tip to future self - don't make server changes after a 20 hour day and low blood sugar 🙄

Share this post


Link to post

One more question, just want to make sure I dont mess something up when transferring files back - should I temporarily disable user shares while I run

copy command:

 

cp -av /mnt/disks/UAdisk /mnt/diskX

Share this post


Link to post
7 minutes ago, benyaki said:

should I temporarily disable user shares

No need, there's no problem copying between UD disks and the array, either to a disk or user share, just between array disks (and cache) you need to be careful.

Share this post


Link to post

I hope you will consider asking on the forum before doing any further disk changes. Just about everything you thought of to do on your own was wrong. Fortunately the old disk was still good.

Share this post


Link to post

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now