Jump to content
zinderr

Steps to downgrade from 6.7.2 to 6.6.7?

5 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

Is there a proper way to downgrade from 6.7.2 to 6.6.7?  The "Update OS" will only downgrade me to the previous version (6.7.1).  I've looked around in the forums and I've read different steps to downgrade without the Update OS tool.   The first step is  always to download the zip from https://unraid.net/download , but after that this is where I get a little confused.  One post say to copy all bz* files to /boot and another says to just copy bzimage & bzroot.  Also, 6.7.2 has 10 bz* files (because of the additional bz*.sha256 files).  If I downgrade by copying over all the bz* files from 6.6.7, should I delete these bz*.sha256 files in /boot?  Thanks in advance!

Share this post


Link to post

Shouldn't matter if you leave the extra bz files,they won't be used. 

Share this post


Link to post

Thanks!  I’m assuming I should copy over all bz* files and not just bzroot & bzimage, correct?

Share this post


Link to post
27 minutes ago, zinderr said:

Thanks!  I’m assuming I should copy over all bz* files and not just bzroot & bzimage, correct?

Yes.   At a point in the past the only bz* type files were bzroot and bzimage but as Unraid functionality has increased additional ones have been added which is probably where the confusion arises.  If you always copy all bz* type files then you are good.   As was mentioned any that are superfluous to a release are simply ignored.

Share this post


Link to post

Also just did this from 6.7.2 to go back to 6.6.7 due to the slowdowns and 100% CPU utilization problems. Seems to work but i do miss the 6.7 GUI 😞

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.