Corrupt Flash Drive Recovery (Have Backup)

smdl

Hi, folks. 

Hoping someone can help me through my first failed USB flash drive.  I'm fairly new to unRAID, but knew to make sure I had a backup, and had hoped that recovery would be as simple as copying the config folder over to a new installation.  Unfortunately, I'm struggling to get back up and working, and would really appreciate some shared wisdom.  Here is how I got where I am:

I decided to try upgrading from 6.7.2 to 6.8.1 today, and it initially seemed to work well.  However, there were a some operations (working on setting up new shares) that didn't want to save, so I decided to reboot.  When I did, the system would not restart, and when I tried to copy the files off of the flash drive to my PC, corruption was evident (would not copy, etc.).  So, knowing that I had a backup of the flash drive on the array, I created a new, blank config on the flash drive using the the USB Creator.  This allowed me to get the system up and working (without assigning drives or starting the array), after which I was able to copy the previous backup onto a separate folder on the flash drive, and then save it to my PC.  I then copied the config folder from the backup onto the flash drive, overwriting where appropriate.  Having done this, the system did boot up properly, but it still doesn't seem to have the correct configuration as no drives are assigned, and there is a message at the bottom of the screen indicating "Array Stopped - Stale Configuration". 

I have tried recreating the USB drive with 6.8.1 and 6.7.2, but the result is the same. 

Hopefully, I am making a simple mistake.  Any help would be very much appreciated!

Cheers,

Shaun