First time caller. Long time listener.

Grimlok

Hey Team!

Been lurking around about 2 years with the plan that when my current server (6+ years old) starts to give up the ghost. I’ll take the plunge into unraid.

Quick into. I like fast cars. Music with guitars. And a cold beer on a hot day. I’ve been voiding the warranty since I could hold a screwdriver. I break fix for a living. And love to tinker around with pretty much anything.

Saw a chassis that was exactly what I wanted. 8x3.5 internal. 3x5.25 external. 1x3.5 external. Rack mounts. ATX mobo and psu mounting. Let’s me chuck 12x3.5s and 2x2.5 SSDs in.

That’s a 6xSata mobo with an 8 way sas addon. Room for some pci expansion to throw unassigned drives in a couple PCI racks, and 4xDIMMs to eventually throw a stupid amount of RAM for a file server in.

A reasonably powerful cpu as I intend on running at least a couple VMs (though not at the same time.) Plex. MySQL. NFS. SMB. Kodi. I’d like to run a tvheadend server with multiple tuners. But I haven’t done a lot of research into the pvr aspect. Headless. Deals with itself after a power failure. And will talk to a ups.

I work For a small mom and pop shop. So I’ve managed to take advantage of my employee discount on a lot of this build.

Drive wise. I’ll be looking at WD Red 8 tb drives. Starting with a 24tb array. And .5tb cache across 2x256mb NVMe drives. (Or SSDs. I haven’t finished weighing up all the pros and cons of each yet) Excuse the upside down box shot. I’m left handed and always end up with upside down photos. And I’m faaaaar to lazy to flip them around)

I think at this stage an i5 quad or hex core around 3ghz is plenty for what I want to do at this point in time.

Initially I was after a full ATX. But I was willing to loose a couple of PCIe slots for NVMe. As long as it was genuine NVMe and not going to disable a sata port.