Unassigned Devices - Managing Disk Drives and Remote Shares Outside of The Unraid Array


dlandon

Recommended Posts

8 hours ago, hawihoney said:

Did it exactly by the word. Looks exactly like before.

 

sda/sdb are shown on Dashboard but not on Main page. There's no way to mark these two devices as passed-through.

 

I believe sda is your Unraid flash device.  Please post another diagnostics.

Link to comment
On 1/30/2020 at 2:29 PM, dlandon said:

...

  • Add a 'Pass Through' switch.  Set this switch to on for any disks you are passing through to a VM or Docker.  When this switch is set, UD will not allow a manual mount and will not attempt to auto mount the disk even if 'Auto Mount' is turned on.  UD will not monitor the disk temperature.

Anyone passing through a disk to a VM or Docker should go to UD and set the 'Pass Through' switch on.  With this switch set on, UD will not allow mounting the disk.  It is known that mounting a passed through disk with UD will corrupt the file system on the disk.

A newbie question. What is meant by pass through here? That is, I have a disk mounted by UD and it is used by few dockers via path "/mnt/disks/.." Is there an issue or can I continue using it like this? I have not enabled the pass through for the disk in UD.

Link to comment
37 minutes ago, ptr78 said:

A newbie question. What is meant by pass through here? That is, I have a disk mounted by UD and it is used by few dockers via path "/mnt/disks/.." Is there an issue or can I continue using it like this? I have not enabled the pass through for the disk in UD.

That is fine as the disk is being accessed at the file level.   Pass Through in this context is when a VM takes exclusive control of the whole drive by-passing any Linux level file system handing.

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
5 hours ago, dlandon said:

I believe sda is your Unraid flash device.  Please post another diagnostics.

Sorry, my fault (sda was a typo). sdb and sdc are shown as Unassigned devices on dashboard but not on Main page. Both are USB-Devices passed through to two VMs.

 

Uploaded diagnostics still applies.

 

Link to comment
1 minute ago, hawihoney said:

Uploaded diagnostics still applies.

Not really.  I'd like to see the diagnostics after you deleted the UD configurations and re-installed the plugin.  There are reasons I ask for things.  If I have to ask twice, it only slows down the efforts to help with your issue.

Link to comment
2 hours ago, hawihoney said:

UD is seeing those devices:

Jan 25 08:11:28 Tower unassigned.devices: Mounting 'Auto Mount' Devices...
Jan 25 08:11:28 Tower unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Transcend_16GB_15H2VE3EAPUM8OBL', mountpoint 'UNRAIDVM02' is not set to auto mount and will not be mounted.
Jan 25 08:11:28 Tower unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'DataTraveler_2.0_001A4D5F25DFC290595BF646', mountpoint 'UNRAIDVM01' is not set to auto mount and will not be mounted.

I have no idea why they are not showing in the UD webpage.  Nothing has changed in the UD webpage display lately that would affect that.

Link to comment

Thanks for looking into it.

 

These two USB devices are passed through to two Unraid VMs. These devices didn't show up on dashboard and they didn't show up on Main page. It works that way since a year.

 

Since some days (under a week) they are shown on dashboard. They only thing that has been changed in that week are the Plugins UD, Wireguard and CA.

 

It's no big deal and I thought that new Passthrough Switch might be the reason. Hence I didn't use that switch til now.

 

Link to comment

Trying to mount a nfs share i am able to get the nfs to mount if i use terminal to enter :mount -t nfs -o proto=tcp,port=2049 192.168.1.3:/UnRaid\ test /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap1

 

here is the script i am trying any help will be appreciated 

 

#!/bin/bash
PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin
## Available variables: 
# AVAIL      : available space
# USED       : used space
# SIZE       : partition size
# SERIAL     : disk serial number
# ACTION     : if mounting, ADD; if unmounting, UNMOUNT; if unmounted, REMOVE; if error, ERROR_MOUNT, ERROR_UNMOUNT
# MOUNTPOINT : where the partition is mounted
# FSTYPE     : partition filesystem
# LABEL      : partition label
# DEVICE     : partition device, e.g /dev/sda1
# OWNER      : "udev" if executed by UDEV, otherwise "user"
# PROG_NAME  : program name of this script
# LOGFILE    : log file for this script

case $ACTION in
  'MOUNT' )
    # do your stuff here
    mount -t nfs -o proto=tcp,port=2049 192.168.1.3:/UnRaid\ test /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap1

    # This will refresh the UD webpage when the script is finished.
    /usr/local/sbin/rc.unassigned refresh $DEVICE
  ;;

  'UNMOUNT' )
    # do your stuff here
    umount -f -l /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap1
  ;;

Link to comment
4 minutes ago, JohnJay829 said:

mount -t nfs -o proto=tcp,port=2049 192.168.1.3:/UnRaid\ test /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap1

Don't mount anything at /mnt/user/.

 

Why are you trying to mount the NFS share in a UD script?  Mount the NFS share with UD as a remote share and then refer to it in your script.  UD will mount it at /mnt/disks//MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap1.

Link to comment
3 minutes ago, dlandon said:

Don't mount anything at /mnt/user/.

 

Why are you trying to mount the NFS share in a UD script?  Mount the NFS share with UD as a remote share and then refer to it in your script.  UD will mount it at /mnt/disks//MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap1.

ok I started the nfs over to remove the script i tried. i am guessing i am missing a premission on the qnap. this is the error what premission should i enter?

 

Feb 2 07:56:50 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: Mount NFS command: '/sbin/mount -t nfs -o rw,hard,timeo=600,retrans=10 '192.168.1.3://UnRaid test' '/mnt/disks/192.168.1.3_UnRaid_test''
Feb 2 07:56:50 MeJoServerTv rpcbind[9563]: connect from 127.0.0.1 to getport/addr(status)
Feb 2 07:56:50 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: NFS mount failed: mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting 192.168.1.3://UnRaid test .
Feb 2 07:56:50 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: Mount of '192.168.1.3://UnRaid test' failed. Error message: 'mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting 192.168.1.3://UnRaid test '.

 

I have a second share that gives a different error i am able to start this one also in a terminal window:

 

Feb 2 08:00:18 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: Mount NFS command: '/sbin/mount -t nfs -o rw,hard,timeo=600,retrans=10 '192.168.1.225://MeJoServerNFS' '/mnt/disks/192.168.1.225_MeJoServerNFS''
Feb 2 08:00:18 MeJoServerTv rpcbind[22431]: connect from 127.0.0.1 to getport/addr(status)
Feb 2 08:00:18 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: NFS mount failed: mount.nfs: mounting 192.168.1.225://MeJoServerNFS failed, reason given by server: No such file or directory .
Feb 2 08:00:18 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: Mount of '192.168.1.225://MeJoServerNFS' failed. Error message: 'mount.nfs: mounting 192.168.1.225://MeJoServerNFS failed, reason given by server: No such file or directory '

Link to comment
4 hours ago, JohnJay829 said:

ok I started the nfs over to remove the script i tried. i am guessing i am missing a premission on the qnap. this is the error what premission should i enter?

 

Feb 2 07:56:50 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: Mount NFS command: '/sbin/mount -t nfs -o rw,hard,timeo=600,retrans=10 '192.168.1.3://UnRaid test' '/mnt/disks/192.168.1.3_UnRaid_test''
Feb 2 07:56:50 MeJoServerTv rpcbind[9563]: connect from 127.0.0.1 to getport/addr(status)
Feb 2 07:56:50 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: NFS mount failed: mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting 192.168.1.3://UnRaid test .
Feb 2 07:56:50 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: Mount of '192.168.1.3://UnRaid test' failed. Error message: 'mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting 192.168.1.3://UnRaid test '.

 

I have a second share that gives a different error i am able to start this one also in a terminal window:

 

Feb 2 08:00:18 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: Mount NFS command: '/sbin/mount -t nfs -o rw,hard,timeo=600,retrans=10 '192.168.1.225://MeJoServerNFS' '/mnt/disks/192.168.1.225_MeJoServerNFS''
Feb 2 08:00:18 MeJoServerTv rpcbind[22431]: connect from 127.0.0.1 to getport/addr(status)
Feb 2 08:00:18 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: NFS mount failed: mount.nfs: mounting 192.168.1.225://MeJoServerNFS failed, reason given by server: No such file or directory .
Feb 2 08:00:18 MeJoServerTv unassigned.devices: Mount of '192.168.1.225://MeJoServerNFS' failed. Error message: 'mount.nfs: mounting 192.168.1.225://MeJoServerNFS failed, reason given by server: No such file or directory '

Add the nfs remote shares in ud by searching the server, make a selection, then search the shares and make a selection.  Don't enter anything manually.  I think you're entering it wrong.

Link to comment
2 hours ago, dlandon said:

Add the nfs remote shares in ud by searching the server, make a selection, then search the shares and make a selection.  Don't enter anything manually.  I think you're entering it wrong.

Sorry that is how i added them. i let the gui search and just grab the ip from the list then grab the share from the list..

Link to comment
21 minutes ago, JohnJay829 said:

Sorry that is how i added them. i let the gui search and just grab the ip from the list then grab the share from the list..

The first mount is a permission issue as you noted.  I don't know enough about NFS mounts to offer any help on how to fix that.  Others here can help.

 

The second issue doesn't make any sense.  If you selected the server and share from the list, it shouldn't fail on not found.  Check and see that the spelling and case is correct. Is the server IP address correct for this share?  Is the server IP address static?

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
9 minutes ago, dlandon said:

The first mount is a permission issue as you noted.  I don't know enough about NFS mounts to offer any help on how to fix that.  Others here can help.

 

The second issue doesn't make any sense.  If you selected the server and share from the list, it shouldn't fail on not found.  Check and see that the spelling and case is correct. Is the server IP address correct for this share?  Is the server IP address static?

address is fine and it is not static but both mount fine if i do it thru terminal.. thanks for the help

Link to comment
10 minutes ago, dlandon said:

Can you show your terminal mount commands?  I don't understand why UD won't mount them.

root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# mount -t nfs -o proto=tcp,port=2049 192.168.1.225:/MejoServerNFS /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap
root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# ls -l
total 921120
-rwxrwxrwx 1 4294967294 4294967294 943203714 Oct 10  2012 A***w\ -\ S01E01\ -\ Pilot.mkv*
drwxrwxrwx 2 4294967294 4294967294     16384 Jan  9 13:03 MeJoServer\ Tv/
root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap#

Link to comment
5 minutes ago, JohnJay829 said:

root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# mount -t nfs -o proto=tcp,port=2049 192.168.1.225:/MejoServerNFS /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap
root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# ls -l
total 921120
-rwxrwxrwx 1 4294967294 4294967294 943203714 Oct 10  2012 A***w\ -\ S01E01\ -\ Pilot.mkv*
drwxrwxrwx 2 4294967294 4294967294     16384 Jan  9 13:03 MeJoServer\ Tv/
root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap#

Will it mount without the port command or the proto command?  UD does not specify either.  It may be one or both need to be added to the mount command.

Link to comment
3 minutes ago, dlandon said:

Will it mount without the port command or the proto command?  UD does not specify either.  It may be one or both need to be added to the mount command.

i unmounted first with :umount -f -l /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap

 

mount -t nfs 192.168.1.225:/MejoServerNFS /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap
root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# ls -l
total 921120
-rwxrwxrwx 1 4294967294 4294967294 943203714 Oct 10  2012 Arrow\ -\ S01E01\ -\ Pilot.mkv*
drwxrwxrwx 2 4294967294 4294967294     16384 Jan  9 13:03 MeJoServer\ Tv/
root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# 

Link to comment
8 minutes ago, JohnJay829 said:

i unmounted first with :umount -f -l /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap

 

mount -t nfs 192.168.1.225:/MejoServerNFS /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap
root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# ls -l
total 921120
-rwxrwxrwx 1 4294967294 4294967294 943203714 Oct 10  2012 Arrow\ -\ S01E01\ -\ Pilot.mkv*
drwxrwxrwx 2 4294967294 4294967294     16384 Jan  9 13:03 MeJoServer\ Tv/
root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# 

Try this: 

mount -t nfs 192.168.1.225://MejoServerNFS /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap

I'd really like to figure this one out.

Edited by dlandon
Link to comment
6 minutes ago, dlandon said:

Try this: 


mount -t nfs 192.168.1.225://MejoServerNFS /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap

I'd really like to figure this one out.

root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# mount -t nfs 192.168.1.225://MejoServerNFS /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap
mount.nfs: mounting 192.168.1.225://MejoServerNFS failed, reason given by server: No such file or directory

Link to comment
Just now, JohnJay829 said:

root@MeJoServerTv:/mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap# mount -t nfs 192.168.1.225://MejoServerNFS /mnt/user/MeJoServerTv/MeJoQnap
mount.nfs: mounting 192.168.1.225://MejoServerNFS failed, reason given by server: No such file or directory

Ok.  I see the issue.  I'll do some testing.  The issue is the // after the IP address.  Strange this has not come up before this.

Link to comment
  • trurl pinned this topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.