Help picking SFP+ 10Gbps network adapters

Hey guys,

Im new to the world or servers and Unraid. Been testing 4x120GB SSD cash pool and some dockers like NextCloud etc and im really happy with the OS. I will buy a Plus licence when my trail runs out soon. Im also new to SFP+ but know a thing or two about networking and have been building PCs for many years.

The idea is to connect the Unraid server to a video editing workstation (peer-to-peer), and connect both of the machines to the switch aswell. I should preferably get two identical cards, right? I will also help a friend setup the same solution. So I would like to buy 4 of the same cards without going broke. Used or refurbished is fine.

After several hours online at Unraids wiki, Mellanox's community pages etc Im still uncertain about what cards to get. Could someone please help me make a good pick from eBay (shipped from and to the US) ?

Any advice is much appriciated!:)

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=sfp%2B+10gbps+network+adapter&_sacat=0&LH_TitleDesc=0&LH_PrefLoc=1&_sop=15&_osacat=0&_odkw=sfp%2B+10gbps

Edited by UnraidServer2020

Sharing some of my notes from the research today.

Correct me if im wrong. Hope someone find it useful.

- SFP supports only up to 4.25 Gbps

- SFP+ supports data rates up to 16 Gbps

http://www.cables-solutions.com/sfp-vs-sfp-plus.html

- PCI Gen1.0 (x8) is fine when using a 1 port card.

- PCI Gen2.0 (x8) is fine when using a 2 port card
(The PCI lane/slot maxes out at 32Gbps and 2.0 is enough for a dual port).

11 hours ago, johnnie.black said:

ConnectX-2

Considering single or dual port cards since I’m buying four of them.

Do you or anyone have experience with dual port cards; either using both ports directly peer-to-peer for possibly 20Gbps (SMB multichannel), or one cable between two machines and the spare port from each machine to the switch?