Questions about UPS with Unraid and Windows

I'm scouting for a UPS (uninterruptible power supply) for my planned build of an Unraid server / gaming PC. Because I have no prior experience with Unraid, some questions came up, which in this case are not specifically hardware related, but because they tie into it I thought this would be the best place to put them.

The idea is to run Unraid as the base OS and run Windows 10 on top of it. The build would feature a bunch of hard drives hosting all my media content, but would also feature a fairly beefy CPU and GPU for gaming. Once I complete the project, the total cost will surely run into thousands of pounds, so I thought it would be wise to protect this investment by using a good UPS. But since, as I mentioned, I have no experience with how Unraid works, I currently find myself wondering.

• Does giving a shutdown command in Windows (in case of power outage) also automatically shut down the Unraid server, or would that require a separate shutdown command?
  • Could a proper shutdown sequence (for both Windows and Unraid) be initiated by a UPS in some way, in case a power outage occurs while I'm sleeping or away?
  • What if a power outage occurs while Unraid is running a parity check or rebuilding a drive, can this process be paused and safely continued or restarted later? If it is possible, how much time would approximately be required (to know how much time the UPS should be able to cover during outage) to safely and properly pause or cancel this process?

So the first two questions are easy to answer... "yes".

Though I'm not sure what you mean that you'd run Windows on top of Unraid.. do you mean in a VM?

As long as you get a compatible UPS (i.e. APC, CyberPower) you can use either NUT or APCUPSD to control both Unraid and Windows.