Hi There! and what next?

sauerm

Hi, 
Im brand new to Unraid, coming from FreeNAS.
I tested both and ended up with UR as it supports my purposes regarding storage device flexibility the most.

Im still in trial mode and testing the system :)

Therefore I have one problem or decission to take.
My Setup over a long time (before FreeNAS) was a Windows Server with simple attached NTFS HDDs where I stored my Movies (without redundancy).
I now have bought myself a 12TB HDD and stored most of that content there.

Plex on UR works great with the movies shared over UD so far.
To store the rest of, and further movies, I would need to add other drives (e.g. first a 8TB drive, later another 12TB) as UD and had the movies spread over different shares what I dont like. On the other hand it would, for now, be cheaper.

Alternatively I could integrate the 12TB into my Array. Therefore I must buy another 12TB for parity and a third 12TB drive to extend storage.

With that I could have all, and further movies in one "movie" share AND parity-protected. But it would be much more expensive. Also I would get in trouble with buffering the 12TB while I preclear and add the drive to the array (while copying all movies from my old HDD collection I recognized that most of them were worn out 😬) as for now I could only afford one additional 12TB drive...

So my options are to spend 300€ for 12TB with the need of another 300€ for a third drive in near future OR to spend 150€ for e.g. 8TB additional storage as UD and be safe (regarding storage space) for the next time.

What would you do? Mostly its a question of investment. But as a student I allready put a lot money in my hobby :)

Im sorry for all the words and hope you could understand my question.
So or so Im glad to be here and agog to learn and experience new things with Unraid :)

so long

Marcel

Yes, I know- thats what I tried to mention :)