What I learned about installing a Mellanox ConnectX-3

I'm relatively new to Unraid and owe a huge thank you to everyone who contributes on this forum. I've got Unraid running on an old QNAP TS-453A and custom PC build and couldn't be happier with the results.

I recently installed a Mellanox ConnectX-3 adapter in my PC server to go along with a new Mac Studio which has a 10 GbE port. There is a lot of information here, and elsewhere, about getting the ConnectX-3 working in Unraid but I got sidelined with details I don't recall seeing anywhere. Or perhaps I needed to do more homework. Regardless, here is what I've learned. Apologies if I'm not 100% accurate with naming devices, parts, etc.

I bought a Mellanox ConnectX-3, model MCX354A-QCBT. It has two slots for network transceivers. The one I bought came with a SAS expander which was an option I didn't know existed. Presumably, you'd connect a cable from your existing SAS card (i.e.: LSI HBA) to this port for external SAS connection. But SAS is a topic for another post.

The ports on the ConnectX-3 support QSFP transceivers for multiple InfiniBand (IB) connections at 40 Gb. It's my understanding Unraid doesn't support IB therefore the card needs to run at 10 Gb (10Base-whatever).

Updating the Firmware

I used the Mellanox Firmware Tools plug-in from Community Apps to update the firmware to the latest version. Searching for the firmware took me on a web page redirection journey to Mellanox and nVidia branded websites, but I found it. Installing the firmware using the Unraid plug-in was easy.

Change the Port Protocol to Ethernet

The ConnectX-3 defaults to an Auto interface mode to switch between IB and Ethernet. Unraid doesn't recognize the Auto mode, therefore won't select Ethernet automatically. Forum posts indicate the card settings need to be changed from Auto to Ethernet. This is easier said than done because the Mellanox Firmware Tool plug-in doesn't provide this functionality.