We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

First "build" spec check + roadmap

Islander

Hi,

Newbie here doing my first unraid "build", although it's not really a "build" because I'll be re-using some of the parts for my initial build and then replacing them as I go along my roadmap. My needs are very basic, just storage for movies, music, pictures, as well as backups. Special thanks to PeterB for helping me out on some of my initial queries, as he now lives in the same country (Philippines - although he is more provincial) as I do. Hope you guys can comment on this before I pull the trigger:

Existing parts which I have to build around:

CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 245 Processor

Case: Generic ATX Case

PSU: EGCC (Generic) 500W ATX PSU

HDD: 1x WD 2TB

Parts I will be buying to complete my build:

MB: Gigabyte M68MT-S2

Mem: Kingmax 2GB DDR3

HDD: 2x WD20EARX 2TB

I've seen the Gigabyte board mentioned here before as working (no HPA):

http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=12900.0

Since I'll be placing 3 x 2tb on this array first, I'll just use the free license of UnRaid.

Roadmap/Growing the Array:

4-6 Drives: The generic case has 4 slots for internal hdd so I'll need to adjust once I get to 5 drives. I'm thinking of using an HDD Bracket + Fans: http://www.ebuyph.com/PictureShow.asp?P_ID=1244 as they are quite low-cost. Also, the board has only 4 onboard SATA connections, so I'll need to get a 2-port PCIx1 controller. Unfortunately, that's actually my biggest problem, as I can't find a cheap one here. Also, I'll need to purchase an Unraid Plus license.

Q: Is my generic 500w psu enough to power me through 6hdds? I'll be getting greens mostly so I believe thats enough?