HP N40L - UnRaid / ESX host

sTe

Hi,

Im a complete newb so please excuse any silly questions.

I have just brought the HP N40L server.

My intentions:

1) Have it booting via USB to ESX

2) Have the drives mapped via RMD so I dont have to have multiple drives with VMKD files

3) Have a VM setup for Unraid (dont know if this is possible)

4) Host a VM for server core / AD

5) Host a VM for "general downloads programs etc"

6) Other VMs for training courses

I have the standard 250GB hard drive that came with the system - Unused

I have a 3TB Western digital drive - unused

I have a 120GB SSD drive - unused - but will be used to host all the VM instances

I have two 2TB Western digital drives - currently with live data NTFS

I havent had chance to play, and hoping to borrow your guys n girls guidance.

When I add a drive via ESX / RMD -- will it force a wipe of the data on the drive?

Is there a drive order preference I should use?  I plan on having some parity drive ... can I use this with my config as it is now?  I plan on adding bigger drives when the prices come down again.

If ESX doesnt wipe the data -- can unraid then read any existing data (ie NTFS and convert on the fly to unraid fs?)

if I replace one of the ESX RMD drives, with a larger one or add a new blank drive... will unraid / ESX be happy?  Will I loose data?

Is there anything else I need to look out for?

Or does anyone have any other suggestions?

Appreciate any help.

I think all of your question to this are answered here: http://www.techhead.co.uk/new-hp-proliant-microserver-a-decent-vsphere-lab-server-candidate

While it is about the previous version, it is still pretty much the same box with minimal CPU upgrade.

It looks like the microserver is esxi compliant (no VT-d though).

You would have to up the ram to Max and keep in mind that it is just a dual core net book style CPU.

you could easily tax it running to much. thus crippling all Guests at once.