Intel i5-2500T - Great performance and low power consumption

I found I was doing a lot more on my unRAID server than I thought I would be, so I decided to upgrade.  I wanted low power consumption with good performance for encoding/transcoding video, and hardware that was supported by ESXi incase I decided to use it.  The only other requirement I had was hardware remote management so I could easily manage the server without the need for a monitor or keyboard.

I decided I wanted the Intel i5-2500T CPU but was unable to find it available for sale anywhere.  After searching for what seemed like forever I finally located the processor available from A-Tech Fabrication in California.  The Intel DQ67OWB3 motherboard was selected mainly for it's 6 SATA ports, remote management, and it'll work well for ESXi.

I've been running the system for about 2 months now and I'm very happy with the build so far, it runs very quiet and cool.

Boot (peak): 138W

Idle (avg): 38W

Active (avg): 76W

Light use (avg): 63W

OS at time of building: 5.0b14

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500T

Motherboard: Intel BOXDQ67OWB3

RAM: Kingston KHX1333C9D3B1K2/8G

Case: AZZA Helios 910

Drive Cage(s): 2xKingWin KF-4001-BK

Power Supply: Corsair CMPSU-430CXV2

USB Cable: 2xStarTech USB A to USB Motherboard 4-Pin Header

Fans: 2xSilverStone SC00L121 Suscool Ultra Quiet to replace drive cage fans

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master RR-910-HTX3-G1 with fan removed

Parity Drive: 2TB WD20EARX

Data Drives: 2TB WD20EARX, 2TB Hitachi 5K3000, 2TB Seagate ST32000542AS

Cache Drive: 2TB Seagate ST2000DL003

Total Drive Capacity: 6TB

• Intel i5-2500T - performance when I need it, low power consumption when idle
  • Intel AMT for out-of-band KVM
  • KingWin drive cages - good airflow, reliable, cheap, hot swap

Dislikes:

• AZZA Helios 910 Airflow - too many fans and case openings provide very poor airflow, I fixed it by covering all the openings.
  • KingWin cage fans - very LOUD, I replaced them with the Suscool 121