Can someone help with an Idiots Guide to setting things up

biggranty

Dont know if this is right place to post but hopefully someone can help.

Im very new to this i had HTPC previously which had a stack of hard drives in it with HD movies, Ive decided to go down server route and use an asrock ion with XBMC as htpc now.

My network knowledge is useless and as it stands ive built server and have added a couple of hard drives so far i can see tower via my windows pc but cant access the server via network says it can connect.

Can someone point me in right direction on what i should do.

I have a vista based pc and the asrock ion htpc and the server and want to be able to access them via the network.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and if more info is required let me know.

Many Thanks in advance.

cheers

Thanks for getting back to me rob, I can see it listed when i look in Network alongside my windows pc but if i try to view the hard drives in server (which i hope to do so i can start copying files over) it says

Windows cannot access \\Tower

check spelling of name otherwise might be problem with network

Doing my head in now...lol

cheers

Thanks for getting back to me rob, I can see it listed when i look in Network alongside my windows pc but if i try to view the hard drives in server (which i hope to do so i can start copying files over) it says

Windows cannot access \\Tower

check spelling of name otherwise might be problem with network

Doing my head in now...lol

cheers

Have you configured any disks on the unRAID server yet?  Can you get to the unRAID management page via your browser on your PC?

It should be at

//tower

(Note, forward slashes for a URL, not back slashes which are a file-path)

Only after you use the "Devices" page to assign disks and start your array, and create top level "shared drives" will you see any shares on the LAN at //tower.