VM setup differences

hi, I am new to unRAID and currently upgrading from my old NAS (only network storage) to a unRAID solution. I want to use this new hardware build mainly for network storage, but also for some docker container, plex and two VMs (one windows and one linux).

The VMs should erase the purpose of my current desktop PC for my work (currently dual boot, that's why there will be two VMs).

I never build a VM solution like that and so I have some questions:

1. Is it a good idea to replace a desktop PC with a VM completely? (of course having a laptop for problem solving situations in the house is essential)
    What are downsides, drawbacks (power, reliability, ...) and things to consider when doing so?
  2. What is the way to go in order to get a decent experience?
    I read different approaches in the web, but what is "the normal way to go"?
    1. Server with LAN cable to switch, Raspberry with LAN cable to switch and a VM client on the Raspberry (pure LAN connector to LAN connector)
    2. Server with LAN cable + HDMI Cable to LAN cable converter and the Raspberry then also with a HDMI+LAN converter (something like this)
    3. Direct connected USB Mouse, USB keyboard and two Monitors to the Server in order not to use LAN at all (thunderbolt maybe as longer range?)
    4. Maybe a completely other setup?
  3. Is there a big difference between 2.1. and 2.2. in case of speed? Does the input of keyboard and mouse lag? Or is there a limit of monitors (I need two) and display resolution (one is 4K, the other ultra wide) and the speed of transmitting the video signal?
  4. In Case of 2.1. and 2.2. is a 1GbE network enough or does this require a 10GbE? Because a Raspberry only has 1GbE. Otherwise there must be an other computer as client in order to receive and control the VM as client.

The VM should later be capable of:

Video editing, programming and sometimes a little gaming.