Game development build server - help with configuration.

Sygan

Hi,

I'm responsible for setting up a build server for Unity in our company and I'm considering using Unraid as a base OS for this server. 

We already have specs closed and bought - they are as follows.

Threadripper 3960X - 24 cores.
2 x 1 TB NVMe SSDs
4 x 4 TB HDDs
128Gb RAM 3200Mhz 
Nvidia 2080 Super GPU

I've never used Unraid before so it I'd like if someone could guide me how to implement the current idea for this build - or if it's even possible. 

So what we would essentially want is to have four VMs + NAS storage as an archive. 

The way that I've envisioned it was to have all of the VMs on 1TB SSD (250Gb of space each). This VM would be backed up (in a sort of Raid1 configuration) on to the second 1TB SSD, so in case one of them fails we can just boot up the VMs from the second drive. 

I'd like to allow these machines to use all available CPU power at the moment. Memory can be limited to about 32GB (minus the RAM the Unraid needs).  

One of this machines will need to have a GPU pass-through for the purpose of baking lights in Unity (and sometimes this machine will also be used for Adobe Premiere rendering) but it would be nice if other machines would have a some kind of GPU emulation as Unity doesn't like to run its builds without a GPU.

These machines will be running Windows as an OS, each of them would have Jenkins and Unity installed. The one with a GPU passthrough would serve as an Jenkins master and the other three will be slave machines. This would allow us to run up to four simultaneous builds (as we deploy the game for multiple platforms or sometimes have a need to run multiple projects). We'd need access to these VMs through some Remote Desktop connection if needed.